I’ve been really remiss in getting the Pantone colors up.  But perhaps I’m still okay – there are a few more days before its 2015, right?

The Pantone Institute is awesome – I’ve blogged about it beforehand, but if you don’t know about it, the Pantone Institute provides color forecasting for upcoming seasons (both in interior design and in fashion) and also decides on the Color of the Year.  We’ve gone through quite a few since I started paying attention – from Emerald in 2013 (which still doesn’t sell that well for me) through bright orange (They called it Tangerine Tango in 2012, also not a great seller for me unless I happen to pair it with violet and call it sunset colors and then it sells FANTASTICALLY) through orchid (this past year).

Coming up pretty soon (early in January),  I’ll tell you about the color forecast trends for the rest of the winter, but first, let me introduce you to the color trend for the year, Marsala.

The Pantone Institute describes Marsala as
“A naturally robust and earthy wine red, Marsala enriches our minds, bodies and souls.”

The Pantone Institute further goes on to describe the color as rich, elegant, subtly seductive, sensual & tasteful.  All that, in one color!  Fun, right?  I just realized that I have a ton of this color already in my wardrobe.  It is particularly good with Madi’s fur – its a great background to showcase how much she sheds.

If you are a lampworker, it looks like the closest colors are CIM bordello (transparent, a little dark) and CIM Limited Run Mahogany (opaque).

 For my beading friends, I’m thinking Dark Red Coral Satin Swarovski crystals…

I’ll show you the pairings for each of the seasons in future posts.  Meanwhile, Happy New Year!
