One of the most famous stories in Scheherazade’s 1001 Nights is about Aladdin and the Genie. I designed this piece years ago, and even constructed most of it. It went to a show, where it was promptly dropped on a flagstone floor by the curators. About a zillion little pieces were returned to me, and disgusted by their lack of an apology, I threw it all into a box for over a dozen years.
When Luba, winner of the February Etsy Beadweavers Challenge, suggested “Shades of Scheherazade” as the theme of this month’s challenge (April 2013), I decided it was time to find the pieces of this project and either rework it or toss the whole thing. Hours later, I think I successfully have captured a Persian garden within the fabulous architecture of ancient Persia that has inspired so much dance and art but since the piece is a rework, I haven’t added it to the challenge.
