I know that in my last post, about Arizona’s Arcosanti, I mentioned Frank Lloyd Wright’s home north of Phoenix.  And you’d think that would be a lead-up to a blog post on his home, but I can’t seem to find any photos I took there (you aren’t allowed to photograph the inside of the home, but there should have been photos outside) and you can read all about it here anyhow.  I don’t much remember the trip anyhow, except for the facts that the guide gave me and the visual beauty of the home interior (which, as I mentioned, I couldn’t photograph).

So…  I’m going to talk instead about a side trip to Fallingwater that Barb and I took on the way home from Crystal Bead Bazaar (one of my favorite bead stores) in Pittsburgh this past September.  We were in Pittsburgh because I was teaching my Garden Trellis Bracelet (photo right) – the same class I’ll be teaching at Bead & Button in June of this year so the pattern is currently unavailable for purchase.  I also taught a color theory class for beaders, which you can purchase here.  I also got a chance to visit with my brother and his wife for a bit!

See, one of the best benefits from my job is that I can sightsee!  Also, Barb is always up for a bit of adventure.

You can’t photograph inside Fallingwater at all – it is a museum after all, but you can photograph the outside.  And I’m not going to really go into a ton of detail about the home, although years ago I wrote a 20-something page paper on the place so my head is stuffed full of facts (see what you get to miss – you didn’t want that afternoon naptime anyhow).  But here’s the basics about the place and photos of both the exterior and the livingroom from Wikipedia:
Fallingwater or Kaufmann Residence is a house designed by architect Frank Lloyd Wright in 1935 in rural southwestern Pennsylvania, 43 miles (69 km) southeast of Pittsburgh.The home was built partly over a waterfall on Bear Run.Hailed shortly after its completion as Wright’s “most beautiful job”, it is listed among Smithsonian’s Life List of 28 places “to visit before you die.” It was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1966.


You can read more about it hereA few things to note about the house, though.  The New Deal was signed in the house and it has played host to celebrities and presidents.  Einstein was a guest at the house, and so were Barb and I (well, we paid to be guests… well, okay, we took a tour).  Do you have any idea how hard it is for me to be well behaved enough to not touch everything?  I didn’t get us thrown out.  Barb should be proud of me.  The house is absolutely stuffed full of art. 
On the bridge before the tour…

 


A scenic overlook after the tour.  You can see the house and the waterfall behind us.

Expect at least an hour for the full tour and another hour on the grounds, in the gallery, and in the giftshop.  Reservations are suggested for tours, but when we got there we were early and they accommodated us in an earlier tour so we had very little wait time.
 

The gallery rotates exhibits and was showing a selection of pieces by the Touchstone Center for Crafts faculty.  I recognized pieces by my friend Michael Mangiafico (see photo, left of a trilobite “fossil” he made from glass.  Its not the one from the exhibit, though).  Here’s Michael’s website and his Etsy store.  Nods also to  Joe Sendek, who taught at Pittsburgh Center for the Arts while I was there.  You can read a little about the (now closed) exhibit and see a photo of Joe at work here.

On the way home, we had a little excitement involving a low tank of gas and a lack of gas stations around Fallingwater.  Fortunately, Barb’s car is a trooper and got us to a station in time!  There’s a ten minute stretch of West Virginia between Pennsylvania and Ohio, and Barb decided she wasn’t interested in the (very authentic) Cherokee Trading Post and Restaurant.

But we did stop at Cabela’s so that we could say hello to this guy.  Meet Mr. Ex-Moose.

 And Barb got a bulk pack of Fireline, which is all both of use for beading thread.  I should have gotten one too.  I think she paid the same amount for the bulk pack that I paid for a small roll of it when I ran out of Fireline two weeks ago (in the middle of a project, of course).


More later!  Ta!

