HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY!  I hope that this year finds you health, happiness and creative amusements.

Good River Gallery has a lot of wonderful changes that you’ll see happen over the next year.  Some of them (Bead & Button 2013) I can tell you about, others, though… well, you’ll have to wait and see.

I just joined the January 2013 Ultimate Blog Challenge.  I tried this in October of last year and did pretty well, but missed a few days days here and there.  31 posts in 31 days and I promise that I’ll try to keep it amusing although there is absolutely no doubt that it’ll be beady. I’ve recently started to talk about some of my travel, though.  I’m lucky.  travel is one of my favorite things to do in addition to beading, and I get to do both.  I started in December by talking about a trip I took in 2005 to Prague (which was theatre related, not bead related) and expect to talk about trips to Arizona and Mesa Verde in Colorado this upcoming month.

You can read more about the blog challenge here.  http://ultimateblogchallenge.com/

I’ve noticed throughout reading the blogs involved that many people note the reason they joined the challenge is that they have the most problem with actually coming up with things to blog about.  My problem seems to be the opposite – I don’t know what to blog about first.  So, I put it off and then just copy over whatever it is that I put into my Facebook posts and into my Newsletters.   In December, Id ecided I wanted to really spend more time making my blog interesting.  I look forward to seeing what the creators of this blog challenge actually suggest over the month-long challenge.  The Ultimate Blog Challenge was created by Michele Scism and Michelle Shaeffer.

I’m also using this challenge because

  •     I work better under pressure so tend to try and enter as many challenges as I can (I’ll be talking about a Beading Challenge at least twice this month).
  •      I like the idea that I can actually use this as a space to write real “stuff” as opposed to the microblogging of Facebook and Twitter.
  •     I’ve been kicking around the idea of writing a novel about lampworkers and want to get more into the habit of writing everyday rather than obsessively hanging out on Facebook (seriously, I don’t have a problem)…
  •     I’d really like my blog to become a better platform for Social Marketing than it has been.

Meanwhile, though, for anyone who doesn’t know me, my name is Hannah Rosner.  I am a jewelry designer and glass bead artist and own Good River Gallery, an online gallery.  I primarily make jewelry using seed beads and also make my own beads out of glass (which is called lampworking).  I teach beadweaving and lampworking techniques, and many of my tutorials are available for purchase online.

