Treasures of Toho 2012 Contest
Once Upon A Time
Well, Bernie has been bugging me to finally release the results of the Treasures of Toho Contest 2012. At the Toho party during Bead & Button, I learned that I had taken first place in the advanced sculpture category with my beaded shoe “Once Upon a Time.”
My thanks, in particular, to Barb, who supplied almost all of the beads I used in the shoe. Also, my thanks to Carol of Dancing Beads in Medford Oregon and JoEllen of AllyBeads. Thanks to Kim Tamarin of Tambrook Beads and Trade who fielded all my questions with grace and good humor. And finally, arigatou gozaimasu to Iwao Yamanaka.
The shoe is made of Toho seed beads, Swarovski crystal beads, ultrasuede and a leather shoe base. It is loosely based on my necklace design, the Passion Flower Necklace, which is available in my Etsy shop as a pattern.
The pattern on Etsy: