I haven’t blogged about my favorite Etsy team recently so wanted to take a moment do so.  However, no matter how hard I’ve tried, this sort of ended up as a series of unrelated throughts about the team and I can’t seem to get it more together.  I’d like to think this is because I’m multitasking – packing for a show, printing out tutorials, packaging last-minute orders to ship – but the reality of the fact is that I’m just pretty scattered and I should probably call it a way of life.  So…
 
The EBW Team is made up of bead artists who aspire to successfully market their beadwoven creations on Etsy.com and elsewhere. Its a large team – there are over 200 of us.  We have two areas of focus:
 
1. Practical business help, including sales promotion by networking, marketing and creating awareness of beadweaving as an art.
2. Artistic inspiration, instruction and encouragement.
I’ve got a whole lot of favorite shops in the team, but in particular you should check out the work by my friend Marsha at http://www.etsy.com/shop/HauteIceBeadwork.  Here’s a suitably shiny piece by her with a sufficient amount of fringe.  Its called “Bollywood Beauty.”
 
The Beadweavers’ creations are different from many of the traditional beaded items, in that they are woven from hundreds or thousands of tiny “seed” beads to create intricate designs and pictures. These weavings take the form of both art and jewelry. Each piece takes many hours to complete, with some larger pieces taking weeks or even months.
 
Here’s more about the team – and I’ve just found myself in her list of favorite shops!
Each month there is an Etsy Beadweaving Challenge. I haven’t taken part in one in a while, but this month’s challenge is particularly interesting.
May theme: “Nautical Inspired”
 
Our challenge was selected by one of our members, Sydney, who writes: “One of my favorite things about being from the Oregon Coast is how much the culture and economy is tied to the ocean (and it’s storms), the ports, and all the lush ocean life. My challenge is to make something Nautical inspired — be it sailor stripes, a pirate’s life, sea stars and octopi, or a siren atop a hefty, rusty anchor — with Memorial Day on the way, I will definitely make my way down to the docks to see all the boats and fisherman, and welcome in all the sunshine. With an occasional high-winds warning and some dark, churning ocean waves.”
 
I’m not taking part in this challenge since I have a bead show next weekend.  But here’s a piece I made a few years back that fits the theme! 
 
Do a search for EBWC on http://www.etsy.com/ and you can see what my team has come up with so far.
 
Please visit our team blog, http://www.etsy-beadweavers.blogspot.com/ between May 9th and 15th and vote for your favorite entry. Which is your favorite?
