A few weeks ago, Clive Henderson from Auntie’s Beads contacted me and asked me to make a piece with some of the beads from his site. Shiny pretty things and a deadline from both he and also Bead & Button? I’m so on it!

First of all, I’m really impressed with the interactivity of the site itself. It has a gallery in which you can show off your designs and earn points toward purchases, links to their blog and also a wealth of lovely beads at really reasonable prices.
You can check it out at http://www.auntiesbeads.com

I made two items with the beads he sent to me.


The first is this bead embroidered pendant with too much fringe. The central two pieces are vintage buttons I’ve been hoarding, but all the fringe beads are stuff I got from Auntie’s Beads. I think I want to attach it to a beaded broad collar, but that will have to wait until I get back from Bead & Button. Really. I’m going to wait. Mostly because I don’t have one of those keen brass blanks to embroider over. Otherwise I’m sure I’d find a reason to put off packing.

I actually was inspired by both the beads for this item and also the June Etsy Beadweaver’s challenge, Phenomenon. Isabella writes:
I have found that the nature is the perfect creation, it always gives me inspiration to create some thing of my own by using the colors or the appearance. The ability to use it and let it effect our handmade creation is amazing by itself. In the last few weeks, we were all witnesses to another affect of one such Iceland volcano. Try to remember one Phenomenon that amazed you the most and transfer it to amazing beaded jewelry.

I’ve always been truly impressed by the Northern Lights, and been meaning to make something based off the following photo for quite some time:

The second piece is this Steampunk-inspired necklace.

The Chinese Crystal and some of the the Czech glass beads on the fringes are from Auntie’s Beads. This piece is actually part of a series of classes I’m teaching in Columbus this summer.

Haven’t tried Chinese Crystal beforehand? Okay, here’s the skinny on it…
Although these are slightly less precise then Swarovski, they are wonderful for anyone love loads of bling and who otherwise are priced out of the market. These little guys also have a lower lead oxide content.

Okay, that’s it for today! Off to avoid packing… If I see you at Bead & Button and am wearing torn jeans and a ratty old t-shirt, you’ll know I was successful!

